Sign Up Here
Modern Match Play: First Look at Our Competition Format
October 31, 2023, Orlando, FL


Related Content

An introduction to all things modern match play ahead of the early 2025 season launch of TGL presented by SoFi.

How will matches be played in our new league? We’ve broken it down so you can be ready to cheer on your favorite team.

What’s Modern Match Play?

Modern Match Play is what we are calling our 15-hole format that includes 9 holes of Triples (3 vs. 3 alternate shot) and 6 holes of Singles (head-to-head play).

Two teams made up of three players each will tee off at SoFi Center and start with Triples. From there, they'll complete the match by playing Singles. Each hole is worth 1 point and the team with the fewest shots on a hole wins the point. The team with the most points at the end of the night wins the match.

Let's give you an example of how Triples will work. Say Tiger Woods, Shane Lowry and Rickie Fowler on Team 1 are playing Rory McIlroy, Patrick Cantlay and Collin Morikawa on Team 2. On hole 1 of Triples, Tiger tees off for his team and Rory tees off for his team. Then, Shane will take the next shot for Team 1, Cantlay will do the same for Team 2 and so on, until the hole is complete. That's Triples, 3 vs. 3 alternate shot.

To give you an example of how Singles works: The 10th hole begins with head-to-head play as Tiger representing his team plays Rory on the opposing team. They play the entire hole and the winner (fewest shots) earns the point. The next hole, Lowry faces Cantlay. And then Fowler faces Morikawa. The cycle begins again for holes 13, 14 and 15, so in total 6 holes of Singles will be played.

Regular Season Point System Explained

So what happens when Team 1 wins the match? Similar to professional hockey, TGL will use a points-based system for regular season matches. For each match, teams can be awarded up to two (2) points towards their regular-season total based on the following:

In our example, if Team 1 wins the match they will be awarded two points to their regular season total. The losing team will get 0 points (unless they lost in overtime, in which case they'd earn 1 point).

Who will be Crowned Champion?

The top four teams from the regular season will advance to the playoffs, which will include single-elimination semifinals and a “best-of-three” Championship Series.

Where the Magic Happens

  • SoFi Center, Palm Beach State College, Palm Beach Gardens, Florida.
  • SoFi Center is a nearly 250,000-square-foot venue with a 75-foot-high apex that will accommodate approximately 1,600 people on match nights during TGL’s inaugural season.
  • SoFi Center will include a large plaza area to host pre-match festivities and numerous elements to complement and enhance the fan experience.

Course: The course within SoFi Center will be infused with various technologies and cover an area approximately 97 by 50 yards, roughly the size of a football field.

Tee Shots and Approach: Players will hit from tee boxes with real grass, fairway, rough, and sand on tee shots and approach shots into a 64 x 46 foot screen powered by Full Swing technology. The screen is roughly 20 times the size of a standard simulator.

Short-game and putting: For shots within approximately 50 yards or less, depending on green setup and hole locations, the players will transition from Screenplay to Greenplay to a custom-built complex referred to as the “Green Zone” that is larger than four basketball courts and will feature the largest-ever adaptable putting surface built by Full Swing. The 3,800 square-foot tech-infused green includes three 15 x 27 foot Virtual Greens by Full Swing, each with 189 actuators and jacks that change the slope of the green, creating a variety of play on every hole.

Create Your Fandom

  • TGL will consist of six teams with four players on each team (24 total PGA TOUR players). Only three players per team will compete on match night.
  • In advance of each match, the two competing teams will name three competitors.
  • All players will be mic'd up during the competition.

Team names, brands, front office staff and assigned players will be unveiled soon, as will the inaugural schedule. All six team ownership groups have been announced and their combined sports team ownership experience spans the NFL, NBA, MLB, NHL, Premier League, NASCAR, MLS, and NWSL:

  • Atlanta Drive GC: led by Arthur M. Blank, AMB Sports and Entertainment (Atlanta Falcons, Atlanta United, PGA TOUR Superstores)
  • Boston Common Golf: led by John Henry, Tom Werner, Mike Gordon, and Fenway Sports Group (Boston Red Sox, Liverpool FC, Pittsburgh Penguins, RFK Racing)
  • Jupiter Links Golf Club: led by Tiger Woods’ TGR Ventures and David Blitzer (Philadelphia 76ers, New Jersey Devils, Cleveland Guardians, Washington Commanders, Crystal Palace FC, Real Salt Lake, Utah Royals, Joe Gibbs Racing).
  • Los Angeles Golf Club: led by Alexis Ohanian (Angel City FC), Seven Seven Six, Serena Williams, and Venus Williams; as well as limited partners the Antetokounmpo brothers, Alex Morgan, Servando Carrasco, and Michelle Wie West
  • TGL New York: Led by Steven A. Cohen (New York Mets), Cohen Private Ventures
  • TGL San Francisco: a group led by Marc Lasry's Avenue Sports Fund and Stephen Curry; as well as co-investors Andre Iguodala and Klay Thompson

The inaugural TGL Season 1 Roster includes: Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy, Patrick Cantlay, Xander Schauffele, Matt Fitzpatrick, Max Homa, Wyndham Clark, Tom Kim, Tommy Fleetwood, Cam Young, Keegan Bradley, Collin Morikawa, Rickie Fowler, Justin Thomas, Sahith Theegala, Lucas Glover, Shane Lowry, Justin Rose, Adam Scott, Min Woo Lee, Billy Horschel, and Kevin Kisner.

  • Players committed represent the following accomplishments:
    • 213 PGA TOUR victories
    • 30 major championship wins
    • 834 weeks spent at No. 1 in the Official World Golf Ranking
    • More player information

More new and exciting competitive elements to be released soon. Don’t miss out on any TGL action, be sure to subscribe for the latest updates.